​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Governance - List of Trustees ​

The Trustees are responsible for the strategic direction of the Academy Trust. They set the vision for the trust, development plans, general policy and the budget. The Trustees monitor performance in education, compliance and finance. They make major decisions about the direction of the Academy Trust, capital expenditure and senior staff appointments.  The Board of Trustees holds each governing body of academies within the Trust to account. 


Bill Clift - MBE, MEd Chair of Trustees

Invested Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire by the Queen at Buckingham Palace (2009) for voluntary services to the community of Castleford and Wakefield (MBE).

National Leader of School Governance (5yrs).

Chairman of Trustees Castleford Academy Trust (5yrs).

I have served as a School Governor at many local schools for over 40years as Chairman or Vice Chairman.

Held the position of Chairman of Castleford High/Academy (27yrs).

Served as a Magistrate for 28yrs in both Criminal and Family Courts.

Graduated Master of Education University of Leeds.

College Lecturer Wakefield College Electrical Engineering.

Enthusiastic Rugby League and Sports supporter.

Chairman of Castleford Town FC 30yrs.

I am totally dedicated to our community and ensuring that our students have the best education by the best team of educationalist.

If you wish to contact Mr Clift please direct mail to:

c/o Castleford Academy
Ferrybridge Road
WF10 4JQ
Email: admin@castlefordacademy.com

Adam Fletcher

I qualified as a solicitor in 2003 having trained with Hartley & Worstenholme at the Castleford and Pontefract offices. Specialising in Property and Practice Management I am currently the Managing Director of Ridley & Hall Legal Limited, a multi award winning law firm based in Huddersfield.

I am also a Trustee of Kirklees Active Leisure (KAL), a charitable trust which manages 13 leisure facilities and swimming pools on behalf of Kirklees Council.

In 2014 I created Kirklees Dementia Action Alliance (KDAA) and was honored to be appointed Chair. I am invited to speak at various events about the promotion of the Alliance and to raise awareness of those living with dementia and their carers.

I have become a keen supporter of Huddersfield University, in particular the Law Department and Law Clinic and have been invited to assist with regular training sessions for the students and the Law Clinic concerning client care and practice management.

I became a Community Governor at Castleford Academy in July 2015 and was appointed as Trustee of Castleford Academy Trust in January 2016.

John Hughes

I am presently a Member and Trustee for Castleford Academy Trust.  I am also a governor for both Castleford Academy and Castleford Park Junior Academy Governing Bodies.

I have been a governor since 1990, starting as a parent governor when my children were at school to the present day, where I am now a community governor.

I have picked up a great deal of experience and skills in that time. And seeing exam results at Castleford Academy improve over the years as well as the progress made by all pupils.

I have been retired since April 2016, before that I worked full time for Unison, representing members in schools and Children services.

In my role I got to see how schools and services evolved over the years and used this to take back lessons learnt to my own schools.

To keep updated I attend numerous training courses each year and read information sent out from DFE, NGA and other governor websites.

John Iveson

I have been a Trustee at Castleford Multi Academy Trust since April 2016.  For 15 years I was also a governor at Three Lane Ends Academy which included being Chair of Governors for the last 7 years.  During that time I was part of the Standards Committee, Health & Safety Committee and Finance & Personnel Committee.  As Chair of Governors I was involved in the conversion of Three Lane Ends becoming an Academy. 

After 30 years' service as a firefighter and then Crew Commander, I retired from the Fire Service in 2016.  In both roles I learned to deal with many and varied challenges.  My experience in the Fire Service has enabled me to bring a wide and varied skill set to the role of Trustee.

I am married with two sons, both of whom attended Three Lane Ends Primary School and Castleford High School (as the Academy was then known).  As a father I have a vested interest in the standard of education offered to future generations, and not just academically as I believe life and social skills are equally important as well before they take their next step into the adult world.

George Panayiotou

George is the Headteacher of Castleford Academy and CEO of Castleford Multi Academy Trust.   He started his teaching career at the school in 2003 and has developed from there.  George has been Headteacher at Castleford Academy and Accounting Officer at Castleford Multi Academy Trust for 4 years.  George leads a team that is passionate about “working together to achieve excellence for all”.  Castleford Academy is a high achieving secondary academy, currently highlighted as being in the top 5% of schools nationally for the new Progress 8 measure of a school's performance within the DFE performance tables in Wakefield.  George is currently chair of the Secondary Headteacher’s board and contributes to other local and regional working groups. 

Barbara Townend

More information to follow

| Trustees Declaration of Interest 2017-18​​